Saturday, December 2, 2023

Belper Welcomes Stage 4 of the OVO Energy Women’s Tour

The OVO Energy Women’s Tour cycle race is coming to Derbyshire on Saturday 10 June. Stage 4 will start and end in Chesterfield and once again the race will be coming through Belper.

In Belper the riders will compete for Sprint points along Bridge Street and then the race will head up towards Heage.

The OVO Energy Women’s Tour begins in Northamptonshire on Wednesday June 7 and finishes in central London on Sunday 11 June. All 15 of the world’s top teams will be taking place, plus British squads Team WNT and Drops. A one-hour highlights programme of every stage will be broadcast daily on ITV4 and Eurosport.

The Derbyshire Stage is the penultimate stage in the race. It starts and finishes in Chesterfield and will also take in Dethick, Lea & Holloway, Blackbook, Heage, Crich and South Wingfield. The stage features some tough climbs and there are Queen of the Mountain points to be won at Middleton Top, Middleton by Wirksworth and at Crich.

Derbyshire Sport have produced this recce of the Derbyshire Stage:


The 123km (80 mile) stage will feature some of the world’s leading female cyclists:

World and Olympic Champion Katie Archibald will lead British squad Team WNT as they make their debut in the OVO Energy Women’s Tour. The six-rider line-up for the team also includes current British Circuit Race Champion Eileen Roe, and Irish Road Race Champion Lydia Boylan.

Already named on the provisional rider list for the OVO Energy Women’s Tour are all three former champions of the UCI Women’s World Tour event – Lizzie Deignan (Boels Dolmans), Lisa Brennauer (Canyon//SRAM) and Marianne Vos (WM3 Pro Cycling).

Other top names scheduled to be riding include Dani King (Cylance Pro Cycling), Lucinda Brand (Team Sunweb) and Thalita De Jong (Lares Waowdeals).

The full provisional rider line-up will be published on Friday 2 June. Full details of the Tour, the Derbyshire Stage and the line-up can be found on the Tour website here.

It promises to be a good day with some excellent racing on offer, so come and join the crowds in support of the riders on the 10th of June.

(Image courtesy of Sweetspot – British Team WNT: Left to right: Katie Archibald, Lydia Boylan, Gaby Shaw, Eileen Roe, Hannah Walker)

Leave a Reply

GDPR, Your Data and Us:

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.